

REPORT TO THE CAPITAL REGIONAL DISTRICT BOARD MEETING OF WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10, 2020

SUBJECT Ed MacGregor Memorial Bursary 2020

ISSUE SUMMARY

To announce the student selected from Sooke School District #62 to receive the Capital Regional District's 2020 Ed MacGregor Memorial Bursary.

BACKGROUND

Ed MacGregor, the first Mayor of the District of Sooke and a Capital Regional District (CRD) Director, passed away in March 2003 while in office. In April 2003 the CRD Board established a bursary fund in his memory. In the earlier years, this bursary was awarded only to students in Sooke; however, in 2008 it was recognized that bursary funds are raised by all municipalities and electoral areas within the Capital Region and in September 2008 the CRD Board amended the criteria to include the following School Districts (SD): Greater Victoria SD #61; Sooke SD #62; Saanich SD #63; and Southern Gulf Islands SD #64 on a rotating basis.

These are the criteria for awarding the Ed MacGregor Memorial Bursary:

- The bursary will be awarded annually, on a rotating basis, to a graduating Grade 12 student from one of the School Districts of Sooke, Greater Victoria, Saanich, or Gulf Islands, to assist the student in pursuing post-secondary education.
- The bursary is to be awarded on the basis of financial need.
- The participating secondary school principals will recommend which student is to receive the award.
- The bursary is to be in the amount of \$2,500 per annum.

The 2020 recipient, as chosen by the selection committee from Sooke School District No. 62 is Megan Dyck. Megan has excelled in her academics earning a spot on the Principal's Honour Roll from 2014 – 2020. In addition, Megan volunteers once a week at the Victoria General Hospital as part of the Step-Up Youth program geared towards youth interested in a career in healthcare.

Megan has been accepted in to the Applied Health Studies program at the University of Waterloo starting in September 2020 and plans to become an oncologist.

Submitted by:	Carolyn Jenkinson, Manager, Executive Administration
Concurrence:	Robert Lapham, MCIP, RPP, Chief Administrative Officer