

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Surfside Park Estates Water Service Committee

Held Thursday, May, 31, 2018 at the Mayne Island Agricultural Hall, 430 Fernhill Road, Mayne Island, BC

PRESENT: Committee Members: Louis Vallee (Chair), Su Everts, Richard Bougie

Staff: Matt McCrank, Senior Manager, Infrastructure Operations, Ian Jesney, Senior Manager, Infrastructure Engineering, Joseph Marr, Manager, Water

Distribution Engineering & Planning, L. Siemens (recorder)

Five members of the public

ABSENT: J. Simmer, Director Dave Howe, Southern Gulf Islands Regional Director

The meeting was called to order at 11:40 a.m.

1. Approval of Agenda

MOVED by S. Everts, **SECONDED** by R. Bougie, That the agenda be approved as distributed.

CARRIED

2. Adoption of Minutes of May 11, 2017

MOVED by R. Bougie, **SECONDED** by L. Vallee, That the minutes of May 11, 2017 be adopted as previously circulated.

CARRIED

3. Chairs Report

Chair Vallee reported that there was one power outage due to a tree falling on the power lines. There was no water disruption as a result of the outage.

4. Annual Report

M. McCrank presented the annual report and advised that all local service annual reports are available on the CRD website. A question and answer period followed.

An inquiry was made regarding a burned down house and if it could be a threat to the water system. Staff requested more information from the committee in order to assist the committee in drafting a letter to the Provincial Ministry.

5. Election of Committee Members

It was reported that the terms for Jennifer Simmer and Richard Bougie would expire on June 30, 2018. Nominations were called by Matt McCrank for two positions for two-year

terms beginning July 1, 2018 and expiring on June 30, 2020. The following nominations were received.

- Richard Bougie (accepted)
- Joan Sutherland (accepted)

Nominations were called for two more times. There were no further nominations. Richard Bougie and Joan Sutherland were elected by acclamation. Their names will be forwarded to the CRD Board for appointment.

There was no new business.

7. Adjournment

CHAIR

MOVED by S. Everts, SECONDED by R. Bougie, That the meeting be adjourned at 12:30 p.m.	
	CARRIED

SECRETARY