

ELECTORAL AREA SERVICES COMMITTEE

PREAMBLE

The Capital Regional District (CRD) Electoral Area Services Committee is a standing committee established by the CRD Board and will oversee services in the electoral areas.

The Committee's official name is to be:

Electoral Area Services Committee

1.0 PURPOSE

The mandate of the Committee includes overseeing and making recommendations to the Board regarding services in the electoral areas including, but not limited to:

- a) building inspection
- b) bylaw enforcement
- c) animal control
- d) grants-in-aid
- e) soil deposit and removal
- f) stormwater quality
- g) fire protection
- h) local emergency management
- i) local economic development

The Committee also has the authority as delegated by the Board in section 6 of Bylaw No. 2864 (consolidated), "CRD Delegation Bylaw No. 1, 2001" to:

- a) hold a hearing to file or cancel a Notice on Title (s. 57 & 58 of the Community Charter)
- b) modify, assign or release a covenant registrable under s. 219 of the Land Title Act

The Committee may also make recommendations to the Board to advocate to senior levels of government to support major multi-modal transportation projects which encourage economic development.

The local service area committees and commissions as outlined in Appendix A will report through the Electoral Area Services Committee.

Any other matter that relates to the electoral areas may be referred to the Committee for consideration.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT AND AUTHORITY

- a) The committee will make recommendations to the Board; and
- b) The Board Chair will appoint the Committee Chair, Vice Chair and committee members.

3.0 COMPOSITION

- a) Committee members will include the Director from each of the electoral areas: Juan de Fuca, Salt Spring Island, and Southern Gulf Islands; and
- b) All Board members are permitted to participate in standing committee meetings, but not vote, where an item of local significance is on the agenda (Board resolution Nov. 12, 2014).

4.0 PROCEDURES

- a) The committee shall meet on a monthly basis and have special meetings at the call of the Chair;
- The agenda will be finalized in consultation between staff and the Committee Chair and any committee member may make a request to the Chair to place a matter on the agenda;
- With the approval of the Committee Chair and the Board Chair, committee matters of an urgent or time sensitive nature may be forwarded directly to the Board for consideration; and
- d) A quorum is a majority of the committee membership and is required to conduct committee business.

5.0 RESOURCES AND SUPPORT

- a) The General Managers of the Finance & Technology and Planning & Protective Services Departments will act as liaison to the committee; and
- b) Minutes and agendas are prepared and distributed by the Legislative & Information Services Department.

Approved by the Electoral Area Services Committee on	, 2018
Approved by CRD Board on	, 2018

APPENDIX A

Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Local Service Area Commissions/Committees:

- East Sooke Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission
- Juan de Fuca Economic Development Commission
- Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Parks & Recreation Advisory Commission
- Otter Point Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission
- Port Renfrew Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission
- Port Renfrew Utility Services Commission
- Shirley Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission
- Wilderness Mountain Water Service Commission
- Willis Point Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission

Salt Spring Island Electoral Area Local Service Area Commissions/Committees:

- Beddis Water Service Commission
- Cedar Lane Water Service Commission
- Cedars of Tuam Water Service Commission
- Fernwood Dock Management Commission
- Fulford Water Service Commission
- Ganges Sewer Local Services Commission
- Highland/Fernwood Water Local Service Commission
- Highland (Maliview) Sewer Services Commission
- Salt Spring Island Economic Development Commission
- Salt Spring Island Electoral Area Emergency Program Advisory Commission
- Salt Spring Island Liquid Waste Disposal Local Service Commission
- Salt Spring Island Parks & Recreation Advisory Commission
- Salt Spring Island Transportation Commission

Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Local Service Area Commissions/Committees:

- Galiano Island Parks & Recreation Commission
- Lyall Harbour/Boot Cove Water Local Services Committee
- Magic Lake Estates Water & Sewer Committee
- Mayne Island Parks & Recreation Commission
- North Galiano Fire Protection & Emergency Response Service Commission
- Pender Island Community Parks & Recreation Commission
- Saturna Island Parks & Recreation Commission
- Skana Water Service Committee
- Southern Gulf Islands Community Economic Sustainability Commission
- Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Emergency Advisory Commission
- Southern Gulf Islands Harbours Commission
- Southern Gulf Islands Public Library Commission
- Sticks Allison Water Local Service Committee
- Surfside Park Estates Water Service Committee