Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 20-185    Version: 1 Name:
Type: Action Report Status: Carried
File created: 2/27/2020 In control: Electoral Areas Committee
On agenda: 3/11/2020 Final action: 3/11/2020
Title: Home Owner Grant Program in Electoral Areas
Attachments: 1. Staff Report: Home Owner Grant Electoral Areas


Home Owner Grant Program in Electoral Areas



The Electoral Areas Committee recommends the Capital Regional District Board submit the following resolution to Union of British Columbia Municipalities for consideration:

WHEREAS the British Columbia Home Owner Grant related to property tax is larger if a person(s) lives in a rural area. 

WHEREAS the five Southern Gulf Islands of Salt Spring, Galiano, Mayne, Saturna, and North and South Pender Islands do not receive the ‘rural’ grant because the Capital Regional District (CRD) is excluded from the rural grant.  This is unfair and inequitable for the taxpayers of the Southern Gulf Islands whose living conditions are no different than those in neighboring jurisdictions such as the electoral areas of the Cowichan Valley and Nanaimo Regional Districts who are eligible for the rural grant. 

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that UBCM request the province officially designate the Capital Regional District electoral areas as ‘rural’ for the purposes of the British Columbia Home Owner Grant.